1. This forum is read-only and considered to be an Archive. Please utilize the SmarterTools Community for future interaction and posts.

Question A very novice question about domains!

Discussion in 'SmarterMail' started by david powell, Apr 5, 2012.

1. david powell

david powell New Member

Hi,

I am new to smartermail but wish to use it for its mailbox sharing capability.

Can someone help me with what I am sure is a really basic question?

I have a website with associated mailboxes, and can configure smartermail to retrive these by pop3 and send by smtp no problem.

However, I want my smartmail 'server' to do all these retrievals and then have my outlook clients connect to smartermail via IMAP so that the same clients can share the same smartermail mailbox (and associated workloads).

My question is this: what name do I give the domain on the smartermail server?

My options seem to be either
    - identical to my website eg mywebsite.com ... but then how do I get the clients to connect to smartermail and not keep trying to connect to the website itself?
    - a fictitious domain eg. notmywebsite.com .... but then when clients try and send emails the default reply address keeps coming back as notmywebsite.com which doesnt exist and the emails are bounced! I have set up alternate email addresses, and if I could make them the default reply to ones for clients could live with this, but that doesnt seem possible.

Am I being very dim here? Any advice , if you understand my problem, much appreciated!
    I have looked through the forums, help pages, and google but everyone seems to be way beyond the stage I have go stuck at.
    David
  2. chicagonettech

chicagonettech Product Expert

1. You must have a REGISTERED DOMAIN NAME in order to host any e-mail server. Because you referenced your website it sounds like you alreay have registered a domain name:

2. You will also need a STRONG WORKING KNOWLEDGE of: